Are beans gluten-free foods

Yes, beans are gluten-free.

All beans, including black beans, pinto beans, navy beans, red beans, lima beans, Great Northern beans, cannellini beans, garbanzo beans/chickpeas, soybeans, green beans, etc., are naturally gluten-free.

Beans are a type of legume, and they do not naturally contain gluten, which is a protein found in wheat, barley, rye, and their derivatives.

However and it is important to note that, some bean products can contain gluten-containing additives or be cross-contaminated with gluten. Therefore, it is important to read labels and make sure no added wheat starch or wheat flour or other gluten-containing ingredients were added when purchasing canned beans with additives.

Additionally, dry beans may become contaminated with gluten via cross-contact, depending on where and how they were grown and packaged, so it is encouraged to wash beans prior to cooking and eating. It is also recommended to avoid purchasing dry beans from bulk bins because of the risk of cross-contamination with gluten-containing grains.

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

    This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.